British Fashion Council's Fashion Awards 2023 Winners

British Fashion Council's Fashion Awards 2023 Winners

British Fashion Council's Fashion Awards 2023 Winners

The British Fashion Council's Fashion Awards took place on December 4th, where London's Royal Albert Hall played host to a gathering of esteemed designers, models, actors, and other industry insiders. The event was co-hosted by the talented television presenter Maya Jama and the renowned artist Kojey Radical.

Jonathan Anderson, the creative director of LVMH-owned Loewe, and the founder of JW Anderson, emerged as the victorious designer of the year. He triumphed over esteemed contenders including Daniel Lee from Burberry, Matthieu Blazy from Bottega Veneta, Miuccia Prada from Prada, Raf Simons, and the former long-time creative director of Alexander McQueen, Sarah Burton.

During the ceremony, attendees were treated to captivating performances by Mette and Sam Smith. A heartfelt tribute was also paid to the late designer and activist, Vivienne Westwood. To conclude the event, models gracefully walked the stage adorned in stunning red gowns crafted by the esteemed designer Valentino Garavani, who received a well-deserved award for his exceptional lifetime achievements.

Here are the full list of award winners:

Designer of the Year Award: Jonathan Anderson for JW Anderson and LOEWE
British Womenswear Designer Award: Maximilian Davis for Ferragamo
British Menswear Designer Award: Martine Rose
BFC Foundation Designer Award: Conner Ives
New Establishment Womenswear Award: Emma Chopova and Laura Lowena for Chopova Lowena
New Establishment Menswear Award: Bianca Saunders
Outstanding Achievement Award: Valentino Garavani
Model of the Year Award: Paloma Elsesser
Special Recognition Award for Contribution to the Fashion Industry: Charlotte Tilbury
Special Recognition Award for Championing Young Designer Talent: Sarah Mower
Special Recognition Award: Sarah Burton
Posthumous Special Recognition Award: Joe Casely-Hayford
Cultural Innovator Award: Sam Smith
Trailblazer Award: Edward Enninful
The Pandora Leader of Change Award: Michaela Coel
Isabella Blow Award for Fashion Creator: Campbell Addy

Read more on Business of Fashion*.

Designer Jonathan Anderson for JW Anderson and LOEWE Won Designer of the Year Award. Photograph. BFC.
O' Connor, Tamison. "Jonathan Anderson, Maximilian Davis and Martine Rose Among Winners at Fashion Awards 2023." BoF. Business of Fashion, December 5, 2023.